Seeking His Face

I am so encouraged by the Psalms.

Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud;

be gracious to me and answer me!

You have said, “Seek by face.”

My heart says to you,

“You face, LORD, do I seek.” Psalm 27:7-8

This weekend was challenging (and blogless if you noticed).  I spent the weekend away at a family wedding, and the gift of the bride and groom turned out to be a 24-hour diet known as food poisoning.  With nine people in my immediate family sharing two hotel rooms, the destitute state was quickly apparent.  I had one of the worst nights of my entire life with almost no sleep and constant concern for the well-being of the other eight family members.  Up the hall, more family was on the 20-minute bathroom rotation as well.  16 of the 19 family members ended up with the dreadful “gift”.

Some of my favorite moments from the weekend were spent by the poolside (prior to the gift) reading Packer’s excellent book, Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God. I’m not yet halfway through it, but it is blessing me richly!

Christ’s command means that we all should be devoting all our resources of ingenuity and enterprise to the task of making the gospel known in every possible way to every possible person.  Unconcern and inaction with regard to evangelism are always, therefore, inexcusable.  And the doctrine of divine sovereignty would be grossly misapplied if we should invoke it in such a way as to lessen the urgency, and immediacy, and priority, and binding constrain, of the evangelistic imperative.  No revealed truth may be invoked to extenuate sin.  God did not teach us the reality of His rule in order to give us an excuse for neglecting His orders.

I also spent a bit of time this weekend pondering emptiness.  Our world has such a misconstrued view of happiness that has creeped into the church as well.  We find great pleasure in a fairy tale.  We long for prosperity and perfection.  Yet true hope and happiness is found in Christ alone.  No amount of money or success can bring with it happiness.  And even Cinderella’s castle can be found empty inside.  I am finding that distance can make many things seem happy that up close are but dust.

So seeking His face is the only true source of joy.  And when we look at what He requires of us, this is what He desires.  And the more we seek His face, the more we want to tell others of the greatness of our God.

It’s Motivate Me Monday at Like a Warm Cup of Coffee, and this is what motivates me!

One thought on “Seeking His Face

  1. I hope you’re feeling better! How horrible! I’ll be keeping you all in my prayers.

    The Psalms always have something wonderful to boost my spirits and give me hope. Beautiful, beautiful words!

Leave a Reply

