My Heart is Steadfast

steadfast

I find myself at a place of needing to place all my hopes, dreams, fears, praise, love, and trust at the feet of Jesus.  I suppose every day should be like that for the Christian, but sometimes reality brings a wind of change that leaves a person with one place to turn.  I feel it has been countless times that I am here: ready to listen, ready to serve, ready to be broken.  My heart’s one desire is to be consumed with Him.

There has been no more constant companion in my life then the One who I cannot see.  There has been no more faithful father than the One who is and was and is to come.

I wonder if David sang, “My heart is steadfast, O God!” (Psalm 108:1) with as much of a desire to be steadfast at heart as he did with the proclamation of confidence that he was steadfast.  How I long to be rejoicing along with David.  The word is repeated a few verses later, “For your steadfast love is great above the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.” (Psalm 108:4 ESV)

I love that Merriam-Webster defines steadfast as “firmly fixed in place” and “not subject to change”.  The love of God is like that for me.  It was fixed before the foundation of the world and it has never changed.  I want my heart to be steadfast in this great love.  For a steadfast heart trusts in the firmly fixed place in which it rests.

Leave a Reply

