Entrusted with Ned

It was a simple grocery store check out with a kid about 18 years old.  I asked him about his day as he bagged my groceries.  A quick passing of a tract and the infamous question followed- “If you died today, do you know where you would spend eternity?”

Heaven, he hoped.  He said he did a lot of nice things for people.  He also said that if he died and didn’t get into heaven, he would be surprised.  He spoke of asking forgiveness and going to church.  But he never mentioned Jesus- the only way to heaven.

In the divine few minutes before another customer came to his line, I had the honor of telling him about Jesus.  I wanted Ned to know for certain where he would spend eternity.  On a night when I am normally in the middle of my city talking to people, the sovereignty of God put Ned in the right spot at the right time to hear the gospel.  I love when He does that!

Leave a Reply

